Accessibility Navigation:

People


Kirill Afonin

Kirill Afonin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Burson 136
704-687-0685
kafonin@uncc.edu


Kathryn S. Asala, Ph. D.

Kathryn S. Asala, Ph. D.

Undergraduate Coordinator and Lecturer
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251, 1252)

Burson 220
704-687-0097
kasala@uncc.edu

Dr. Kathryn Asala's site

Christopher Bejger, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Burson 262
704-687-5411
cbejger@uncc.edu


Banita W. Brown

Courses Taught: Organic Synthesis (CHEM 4135/5135) Organic Structure (CHEM 4133) Organic Chemistry (CHEM 2131, 2131L, 2132, 2132L) Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251, 1252)





Clifford M. Carlin, Ph. D.

Lecturer
Courses Taught: Special Topics and Investigations (CHEM 6060)

Burson 229
704-687-0098
cmcarlin@uncc.edu

Dr. Clifford Carlin's site

Brian T. Cooper, Ph. D.

Brian T. Cooper, Ph. D.

Associate Professor
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251) Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1252) Quantitative Analysis (CHEM 3111 ) Instrumental Analysis and Lab (CHEM 4111/4111L) Protein Analysis by MALDI-M.S. (CHEM 4090/5090) Mass Spectrometry (CHEM 6115)

Burson 142
704-687-8050
btcooper@uncc.edu

Dr. Brian Cooper's site

Bernadette T. Donovan-Merkert, Ph. D.

Bernadette T. Donovan-Merkert, Ph. D.

Professor & Chair Analytical Chemistry
Courses Taught: Freshman Seminar (ARSC 1000) Science, Technology and Society (LBST 2219) Quantitative Analysis (CHEM 3111) Survey of Instrumental Methods of Analysis (CHEM 3113) Instrumental Methods (CHEM 4111) Advanced Analytical Chemistry – Practical NMR Spectroscopy (CHEM 6115) Advanced Analytical Chemistry – Electrochemistry (CHEM 6115) Organometallic Chemistry (CHEM 6126) Perspectives at the Nanoscale (NANO 8001) Introduction to Instrumentation and Processing at the Nanoscale (NANO 8101)

Burson 200
704-687-1300
bdonovan@uncc.edu

Donovan-Merkert Group Home Page

Markus Etzkorn, Ph. D.

Markus Etzkorn, Ph. D.

Associate Professor
Courses Taught: CHEM 2131 - Organic Chemistry CHEM 2132 - Organic Chemistry II CHEM 6135 – Advanced Organic Chemistry

Burson 268
704-687-1468
metzkorn@uncc.edu

Research Group

Richard L. Jew, Ph. D.

Richard L. Jew, Ph. D.

Lecturer
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251)

Burson 224
704-687-1605
rjew1@uncc.edu

Dr. Richard Jew's site

Daniel S. Jones, Ph. D.

Daniel S. Jones, Ph. D.

Associate Professor
Courses Taught: Physical Chemistry (CHEM 3141, 3142) Survey of Physical Chemistry (CHEM 2141) General Chemistry (CHEM 1203, 1204)

Burson 266
704-687-0992
djones@uncc.edu

Jones Research Home Page

Marcus Jones, Ph. D.

Marcus Jones, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
Burson 138
704-687-7852
Marcus.Jones@uncc.edu

Group website

Joanna K. Krueger, Ph. D.

Joanna K. Krueger, Ph. D.

Associate Professor
Advanced Biochemistry (CHEM6185/8165) Biochemical Principles (CHEM 6101/8101) Principles of Biochemistry I (CHEM 4165/5165) Principles of Biochemistry II (CHEM 4166/5166) Biochemical Instrumentation (CHEM 4171/5171)

Burson 144
704-687-1642
jkkruege@uncc.edu

Krueger Group Website

Jon W. Merkert, Ph. D.

Jon W. Merkert, Ph. D.

Senior Instrument Analyst
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251, 1252) Chemistry Seminar (CHEM 4695, 4696) Special Topics and Investigations (CHEM 6060)

Burson 226
704-687-1656
jmerkert@uncc.edu


Susan K. Michael, M.S.

Susan K. Michael, M.S.

Lecturer
Courses Taught: General Chemistry (CHEM 1203) Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251, 1252) Organic Chemistry (CHEM 2131L, 2132L)

Burson 140
704-687-1660
smichael@uncc.edu

Susan Michael's site

Michael D. Murphy, Ph. D.

Michael D. Murphy, Ph. D.

Lecturer
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251/1252) Survey of Physical Chemistry (CHEM 2141) Analytical Chemistry Laboratory (CHEM 3111) Survey of Instrumental Methods Laboratory (CHEM 3113) Physical Chemistry Laboratory (CHEM 3141/3142) Instrumental Analysis Laboratory (CHEM 4111)

Burson 139
704-687-1662
mmurphy@uncc.edu

Dr. Michael Murphy's site

Craig A. Ogle, Ph. D.

Craig A. Ogle, Ph. D.

Professor & Director of Regional Analytical Chemistry Laboratory (RACheL)
Courses Taught: Advanced Organic Chemistry (CHEM 6135) Organic Chemistry (CHEM 2131 & CHEM 2132) Organic Structure Determination (CHEM 4133) Organic Reaction Mechanisms (CHEM 4134)

Burson 250

cogle@uncc.edu

Ogle Group Home Page

Jordan C. Poler, Ph. D.

Jordan C. Poler, Ph. D.

Associate Professor
Courses Taught: General Chemistry (CHEM 1251, 1252) Physical Chemistry (CHEM 3141, 3141L, 3142, 3142L) Surfaces and Interfaces of Materials Chemistry (CHEM 6082) Nanoscale Phenomena (NANO 8102)

Burson 143
704-687-8289
jcpoler@uncc.edu

Poler Group Home Page

Daniel Rabinovich, Ph. D.

Daniel Rabinovich, Ph. D.

Professor Inorganic Chemistry
Teaching: Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251) Inorganic Chemistry (CHEM 2125) Science, Technology and Society (LBST 2213) Advanced Inorganic Chemistry (CHEM 4121) Organometallic Chemistry (CHEM 6126)

Burson 232
704-687-5105
drabinov@uncc.edu

Rabinovich Group Home Page

John M. Risley, Ph. D.

John M. Risley, Ph. D.

Professor
Courses Taught: Advanced Biochemistry (CHEM 8165,CHEM 6165) Biochemical Principles (CHEM 6101, CHEM 8101) Special Topics in Biochemistry (CHEM 6060) Special Topics in Biochemistry (CHEM 5090) Biochemical Instrumentation (CHEM 4171) Principles of Biochemistry (CHEM 4165, 4165L, 4166) General Chemistry (CHEM 1203, 1203L, 1204, 1204L) Chemistry in Today's Society (CHEM 1111, 1112) Laboratory in Chemistry (CHEM 1111L, 1112L)

Burson 236
704-687-5175
jmrisley@uncc.edu

Risley Group Home Page

Thomas A. Schmedake, Ph. D.

Thomas A. Schmedake, Ph. D.

Associate Professor
Burson 264
704-687-5177
tschmeda@uncc.edu

Research Group Page

Caryn D. Striplin, Ph. D.

Caryn D. Striplin, Ph. D.

Lecturer
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry (CHEM 1251, 1252) General Chemistry (CHEM 1203) Organic Chemistry (CHEM 2131L) Biochemistry (CHEM 4165L)

Burson 141
704-687-5179
cdstripl@uncc.edu

Dr. Caryn D. Striplin site

Jerry (Jay) Troutman, Ph. D.

Jerry (Jay) Troutman, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
Burson 262
704-687-5180
Jerry.Troutman@uncc.edu

Research Page

Juan Luis Vivero-Escoto, Ph. D.

Juan Luis Vivero-Escoto, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
Burson 258
704-687-5239
jviveroe@uncc.edu

Research Group Website

DR. Michael Walter

Michael G. Walter, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor
Burson 254
704-687-8291
Michael.Walter@uncc.edu

Walter Research Group